I’m reading the first book of A Game of Thrones: A Song of Fire and Ice and came across this fabulous word today: wight.*  “He watched as the direwolf buried his teeth in the wight’s gut and began to rip and tear.”  This is Jon Snow’s POV when the White Walker snuck in to the Commander’s rooms and his wolf attacked it.  Anyhow, I have two very scary/evil doppelgängers in my sequel to Lives of Ghosts and I think wight will be a perfect noun to use when I go back and edit Death of Ghosts.

Update on Lives of Ghosts: Just making final checks and hope to start on the dreaded query letter in a week or so.

*wight:  “noun ARCHAIC or DIALECT a person of a specified kind, esp. one regarded as unfortunate.  POETIC/LITERARY a spirit, ghost, or other supernatural being.  ORIGIN Old English wiht ‘thing, creature’…”

 

