While I’m wrapping up my final edits on my novel, I often sneak away to read A Game of Thrones, Song of Fire and Ice.  And I love it.  I love the HBO series and I love the book.  I’m not big on Medieval battles but I’ve powered through those kinds of books before (i.e. The Hobbit) and enjoyed them.

My goal was to get through the second Game of Thrones book before Season 2 began (4/1/12), but then I realized how much I was enjoying the 1st book AFTER having seen the TV show first.

So I pondered.  I don’t know if I would have liked some books (i.e. Twilight) half as much as I did had I read then BEFORE seeing the movie.  When I read a book after seeing the movie, I’m HAPPY because there’s so much more in the book that I didn’t know – it’s like a fun surprise.  Also I can visualize things based on the actors.  Don’t get me wrong, I have quite a vivid imagination and I can visualize a lot from a good writer, but sometimes having the scene already implanted in my head adds more depth.

Pondering further, I realized I was often disappointed when I read a book FIRST and then saw the movie finding much of the story was left out or completely different.  Like Memoirs of Geisha.  Wonderful, beautiful book.  But the movie didn’t do anything for me.  Maybe I would never have read the book had I seen the movie first.   That would have been sad.

There are lots of great movies out there that turned out very similar to the books, like To Kill a Mockingbird, The DaVinci Code, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – the Swedish version, haven’t seen the new movie yet.  So I’m really hoping that The Hunger Games movie (3/23/12) is as good or as close to the book as possible.  I have a feeling I may pick the movie apart and dissect it and ponder (because that’s what I do) what was missing or what could have been done differently.  And then I will just have to pick up the series and read them again.  And that’s not such a bad thing right?

Happy Wednesday!

